Above: The Chief Scout, Michael John Shinnick; Cian O’hOgartaigh and Owen Riordan, Group Leader.

Congratulations to Cian O’hOgartaigh from the De La Salle Venturer Group and formerly of the 3rd De La Salle Scout Troop who was presented with his Chief Scout’s Award by Michael John Shinnick on the 22nd August last at Mount Mellary. The Chief Scout’s Award is the highest award that a youth member can achieve within the organisation. Cian’s project for the award was based on climbing. Cian is the 20th member of the De La Salle Scout Group to receive the award (see our Group History page for the list). Group Leader, Owen Riordan was the first to congratulate Cian on his award saying that it was an excellent achievement for any Scout to progress the full way through the award scheme and it was something that was rarely done.