Above: Darragh O’Callaghan of the 7th Scouts receives his National Scout Award from County Commissioner, Tom O’Neill.
Photo by Brian Fanning.

Darragh O’Callaghan of the 7th De La Salle Scout Troop was presented with his National Scout Award by Tom O’Neill, County Commissioner at the Group’s Christmas mass which was held at the De La Salle College in Newtown on the 2nd of December last.  Darragh has been a member of the 7th for the past five years and speaking after the event, Scoutleader Billy Collins said that Darragh had been a key part of his troop in recent years. He went on to say that he is also a very hard worker, is very committed and was very deserving of the award. On the night, Group Leader Owen Riordan and Brendan Doherty, County Treasurer also presented spot prizes to members of the Beavers and Macaoimh (pictured below) as well as to the Scouts who had helped the Group in its important fundraising efforts with the recent 12 Days of Christmas Draw. Owen thanked all the leaders and parents present for their hard work over the past twelve months and expressed his hope that 2007 would be another very successful year for the group.