Pictured: David Rogers, Group Leader; Mary O’Halloran, Deputy Mayor; Martin Burbidge, Chief Scout; Kate Hayes, Chief Scout Award Recipient.

On Friday the 1st of October, the Chief Scout, Martin Burbidge was in the city to present Kate Hayes with her Chief Scouts Award.  The ceremony took place at the Waterford Crystal showrooms and gallery.  Kate is the first female scout in De La Salle to achieve scouting’s highest youth award.  The subject of her project was the new scout association. Kate’s award came on the 20th anniversary of the first ever Chief Scout Award in De La Salle which was given to Mark Roche in 1984 and awards were presented to some of the 16 previous recipients to mark the occasion.


Above (L-R): Chief Scout Award Recipients: Paul McSweeney, Mary O’Halloran (Deputy Mayor), John Kinsella, Kate Hayes, Brian Butler (on behalf of Gordon Butler), Kieran O’Connor, Chief Scout Martin Burbidge, Tom Casey (on behalf of Mark Casey) and Billy Collins (on behalf of Colm Ennis).

The Group’s development fund towards the new scout den was also officially launched by the Chief Scout. The Deputy Mayor, Councillor Mary O’Halloran was also in attendance to congratulate Kate and to wish the Group well with their development plans.