Above: John Cummins who received his Chief Scouts Award from the Chief Scout, Peter Dixon is pictured with his family.  The topic of John’s project was Formula 1 Racing.

On Friday the 7th of November last a special awards ceremony was held at the Waterford Crystal showrooms at which 9 members of the Region were presented with the Chief Scouts Award.  There were also awards given to those members of the Region for their excellent work during the 2003 Special Olympics and also for their organisation of the locally held Melvin 2003 at Mount Mellary. John Hennnebry of the De La Salle Unit was also presented with a special award for his work in coordinating the scouting contribution to the Olympics from the Region.

Above: Betty, Deirdre and Paschal Guilfoyle pictured with the Chief Scout, Peter Dixon. All three received awards for their contribution to the 2003 Special Olympics.  Deirdre also received her Chief Scout’s Award the topic of which was also the Special Olympics.

Above: On the left Pat O’Connor, National Commissioner for Scouts presents David Roche of the 3rd De La Salle with a knife in recognition of him achieving the Best PL Award on the 2003 Melvin and on the right David Rogers, Unit Leader is presented with a Waterford Crystal Paperweight in recognition of his work in the organisation of the 2003 Melvin competition.