The Scouting Ireland National Council for 2008 was held in the Carlton Shearwater Hotel in Ballinsaloe from the 21st to the 22nd of June. There was a great turnout of members from the Association which brought about thought provoking debate and great participation over the weekend. As part of the business of National Council our very own Pat Murphy was elected as a lifelong Honorary Member of Scouting Ireland. This was in recognition of all of his work and efforts to scouting at a local, County and National level. As he has already been presented with the highest award that is possible for a member of Scouting Ireland, the Cuchulain award, this was the next step. Congratulations to Pat from all at the De La Salle Scout Group.