Congratulations to Jessica Collins from St. Pauls who was the Young Person Winner in the Uniform & Rescue Category of the Waterford Voluntary Youth Council/Waterford Crystal Annual Youth Awards 2005.  The Awards have been running every year since 1993 to give public recognition to the work being done for, with and by young people in Waterford City. In the same category Jim Hennessy was presented with the Youth Leader award. Sile De Valera, Minister for Youth Affairs was Guest of Honour at the event which was held at the Granville Hotel on the 1st of December last.

Prior to the announcement of the winners, Declan Kelly, Uniform & Rescue Representative on the Waterford Voluntary Youth Council’  asked for all present at the awards to remember the passing of two leaders during the year, John Hennebry and Brendan O’Shea. The De La Salle Scout Group would like to thank the Waterford Voluntary Youth Council for all their help and support throughout the year and in particular their Chairman Cathy Hanrahan who, with the Council is keeping the Youth of Waterford City to the forefront with events like the Youth Awards by attracting Guest of Honour Speakers like the Minister.