On the 20th of January last at the Waterford Crystal Sports Complex the New County Management Committee was elected. They are as follows: County Commissioner, Jody Phelan; County Chairperson, Brian Gaule – 1st Port of Waterford Sea Scouts; County Secretary, Alison Parle – St Pauls; County Treasurer, Brendan Doherty – Faithlegg; County Programme Co-ordinator, Paschal Guilfoyle – De La Salle; County Training Co-ordinator, Breda Collins – St Pauls.  Further Programme Co-ordinators will be appointed at the next meeting which will be on Monday 9th Feb at St. Pauls and no appointment has been made to the County Chaplain position as of yet.

Pictured above is a mix of the County Management Team and the Provincial Support Team. The front row is made up as follows; Bishop Lee, Jody Phelan County Commissioner, Mayor Tom Cunningham, Brian Gaule County Chairman, Dean Trevor Lester. Back Row: Joe Gough VEC, David Rogers Provincial Adult Resources Rep, Breda Collins County Training Co-ordinator, Derrick Watson Provincial Commissioner, Brendan Doherty County Treasurer, Paschal Guilfoyle County Programme Co-ordinator, Justin Maher Provincial Support Officer, Alison Parle County Secretary, Tom O’Neill Provincial Secretary. Missing from Photo is Bernie Rogers Provincial International Rep and there is no-one appointed to the Provincial Training Rep or Programme Rep yet for the Province.

The South East Scout Province is made up of Waterford, Wexford, Carlow/Kilkenny, Laois/Offaly, Kildare North, Kildare South and Wicklow.  The Scout County has formally been called ‘Waterford Scout County’. The groups are the 3rd/7th/13th Waterford De La Salle, 4th Waterford Abbeyside, 8th Waterford Tramore, 10th Kilkenny Kilmacow, 11th Waterford Dungarvan, 12th Waterford Stradbally, 15th/25th Waterford Sacred Heart, 16th Waterford Cappoquin, 17th/20th Waterford St. Paul’s, 18th/26th Waterford Ferrybank, 19th/29th Waterford Ballygunner, 27th Waterford Butlerstown, 31st Waterford Faithlegg, 35th Waterford, 1st Waterford Port of Waterford, 2nd Waterford Dunmore East.

Finally there is a competition for all Scout Groups in the County to design a new ‘County Badge’ which will be used as a Flag also. Each Scout Group can submit 6 entries, taken from all of their sections, to the County Management Committee for the meeting which will be held in March.