At the Annual General Meeting of the De La Salle Scout Group held on Tuesday the 13th November 2012 it was confirmed that Group Leader, Shay Purcell, has decided to step down from his position to focus on his academic and professional commitments. The Group Council expressed its sincere thanks to Shay for his hard work and determination and his overall exceptional commitment to the position and to the group. He accomplished alot during his time as Group Leader including a strengthening of the leadership teams in all sections and the implementation of the One Programme throughout the group. He also oversaw the launch of our new website and the continued growth of the De La Salle Scout Pipe Band. The Scouters of the Group at the AGM wished him all the best for the future

David Collins (much better known as Ginter!) was then nominated and confirmed as the new Group Leader.  David has over 26 years of leadership experience with De La Salle having been a Scouter in the 3rd Cubs, the 3rd, 7th and 13th Scouts and the De La Salle Venture Scouts over the years.  All at the Group Council wished him well in his new role and pledged their support at this important time in the history of the group. Meanwhile Tom Casey was renominated as Group Treasurer while Karen Kenneally was renominated as Group Secretary and Owen Riordan was renominated as Group Chairman.


Thanks to County Commissioner Brian Fanning for attending the event. The evening was rounded off with a child protection talk from Group Support Facilitator, Neil Mahony and Scouting Ireland’s Child Protection Officer Ruth Hughes. The Group would like to thank both Neil and Ruth for taking the time to attend to the event.