Above: Pictured at Waterford City Hall are from L-R John Sharpe, Owen Riordan, Stacia Coughlan, Paschal Guilfoyle, Pat Murphy, Peter Dixon, Chief Scout, Robert Windle, Tom Cunningham, Mayor, George Kavanagh, Billy Collins, David Rogers and Ray Smith.

The weekend of the 8th and 9th of November last saw a number of events to mark the 75th Anniversary of the De La Salle Scout Unit in Waterford City.  On Saturday the 8th, at Waterford City Hall, the Unit was given a special mayoral reception by the Mayor of Waterford City, Tom Cunningham.  At the event the Unit presented him with the Unit and Regional Badges and also a solid silver tie pin of Reginald’s Tower which is 1000 years old this year. The final meeting of the National Executive Board of Scouting Ireland CSI was also held in the city hall that day.  They were in Waterford to mark the Unit’s anniversary and also the fact that the initial proposal for the foundation of a new association began at the National Council in Waterford in 1998 and it was fitting that part of the long process would also end here.  That evening a 75th Anniversary Dinner was held at the Holy Cross and was also attended by members of the Scouting Ireland CSI, National Executive Board.


Above: On the Left are John Sharpe Senior, Nancy Sharpe and John Sharpe at the 75th anniversary celebrations. On the Right David Rogers UL, Br. Finbarr Retired UL, Peter Dixon Chief Scout and George Kavanagh, Macaoimh Leader cut the 75th anniversary birthday cake (Photo Gerry O’Carroll).

On Sunday the 9th the 75th Anniversary Mass Parade was held in the Friary and afterwards a new plaque commemorating the anniversary was unveiled by the Chief Scout, Peter Dixon. There was also a new unit photo taken and after the cutting of our birthday cake, a presentation was also made to the Chief Scout.  See our Group History page for more pictures.

Above: On the left David Rogers presents Mayor Tom Cunningham with the Unit badge and on the right Joe Lalor, former Chief Scout and member of the National Executive Board is pictured at Waterford City Hall.

Above: On the Left with the 75 years commemorative plaque are David Rogers, Robert Jacob from the Beavers, Peter Dixon and Bro. Finbarr (Photo Gerry O’Carroll). On the right is the final meeting of the NEB in progress in Waterford City Hall


Above: On the left Peter Dixon and members of the National Council at the unveiling of the plaque commemorating the Unit’s 75th anniversary. On the right Pat Murphy and the De La Salle Scout Pipe Band prepare to lead the parade from the Friary.